Friday, 8 November 2013

The Dress....

Friday 8 November 2013

Mum and I went wedding dress shopping yesterday.  Best.day.ever! We only went to one shop as they do the style of dress I really like.  I tried on 4 and the first one felt like 'the dress' I loved it! My tummy went all funny when I looked in the mirror and I got goose bumps.  Mum cried (a lot) and the woman in the shop seemed to genuinely like the way it looked.  I couldn't stop smiling and it made me want to dance...which I did.  The shop assistant looked at me like I was a mad but c'mon I was in a wedding dress! How can you not feel so happy you want to shake your booty?

Mum was honest and said although she loved the dress she thought she preferred the second one. I liked the second one a lot but it didn't feel completely right.  Mum said to me to go with my gut and reassured me the one I loved looked amazing.  We decided I'd sleep on it as it's such a massive decision and I'd never rush into something like that, however, I've woken up this morning feeling just as in love with the dress as I was yesterday.  I felt so sad when I had to take it off.  I've asked the shop if they can change a few very minor details and she said it's not problem so I've arranged an appointment to go back next week so they can get my measurements etc and start making my dream dress!! YES!  I  told the designer I love the dress so much I feel like I miss it and she said it asked after me this morning because it missed me too! Lol!  The dress and I have a connection.

Afterwards me and Mum had lunch and got the bus to Selfridges to visit the shoes.  It's been a while and I'm sure Jimmy Choo was starting to worry about us.  We tried on the whole shop (obviously) and went on to visit Louboutin, Dior, Chanel and Vivienne Westwood then we left all sad that we couldn't buy any.  I'm not really sure why we torture ourselves so much!  We just can't go up to London without a de-tour to Selfridges - it would be criminal.

I was knackered after all the dress and shoe trying on (I didn't sleep the night before - I was FAR too excited!) So we decided to go home - tired and Jimmy Choo-less.  It was a bit of a weird day - I don't think we were prepared for how the dresses would make us feel. Mum got really emotional and I just felt really odd, like all fuzzy! I think it's a bit overwhelming.  I knew Mum would feel emotional but I didn't expect actual tears! At one point I thought she was gonna start sobbing uncontrollably!  Fortunately she managed to keep her composure.  It must be so emotional for a mother.

I can't stop thinking about the dress!!!!! It's quite unusual but I don't think anyone would expect me to wear a 'normal' wedding dress.  I think people will either love it or they'll think 'what the feck?' I don't care though because it's just so 'me' and I'd never get something that wasn't 'me' just to please other people.  Personally, I think all wedding dresses are beautiful though.  We went to 7 weddings last year and every bride looked amazing.

I think this is normal (well I hope it is) but I have been having some mad thoughts about the wedding , my new one is 'what if Sami hates my dress?
What if he thinks I look like a twat?
Others include:
What if no one turns up?
What if Sami doesn't turn up?'
What if I'm really ill beforehand and can't walk down the aisle? (For those reading this that aren't aware I have a chronic illness called Lupus which is very unpredictable) Or EVEN WORSE what if I have to go on a high dose of steroids and end up getting so fat I can't fit into my dress?

ARRRRRGH! Maybe my doctor's surgery should offer pre-wedding counselling for the mental bride to be.

Speaking of mental, I had my first wedding related nightmare last night.  I dreamt we arranged a wedding rehearsal a week before the wedding but for some reason I got confused and thought it was the actual wedding day so turned up in my dress...everyone had seen it before the big day! Then the photographer turned up! Noooo! And the caterers prepared food for a Jewish wedding with nothing I ordered! It all just went so wrong. I woke up with a huge gasp and could barely breathe! Lol! So silly.

Sami and I are meeting with our potential photographer this evening - the one that lives in the next road (so weird) so hopefully it will all go well.  I'm sure it will - I've a good feeling about him.

In other and totally non-related news Lupus Group Ireland have published a book 'Living with Lupus' and it features my story.  You can buy it here - http://www.lupusgroupireland.com/shop.html and you can read my Lupus blog to find out more here www.lupielu1.blogspot.co.uk

So all in all a good and very productive week so far.

Next stop will be my wedding shoes.....


Wednesday, 6 November 2013

It's booked!

The venue has been booked and the date set!  We are getting married on 18th October 2014 at Dulwich College in South East London and then on to the reception at The Rosendale Pub.  WAHOOO! Now the fun begins!

If you have read previous posts you will have read about some of the spooky wedding related goings on...well I have new one!  So a friend of a friend on Facebook mentioned a photographer to me and suggested I 'like' their page on Facebook as they are having a competition - the 300th person to like wins 20% off a wedding photography package.  I did it about 20 minutes after it was posted and I was the 300th person! Yipppeeee!  I checked out his website and really liked his work so emailed him and said I'm getting married next year etc and he said he would be happy to honour the discount.  I found out he covers all of South East London and thought great! I did some more research and didn't really like any other photographers as much so I contacted him and said I think we'd like to go with him.  He replied and suggested we meet up this week to discuss everything and it turns out he lives in the road next to mine! It's not that much of a coincidence but it did feel a bit weird.

Here's a link to his website - http://davidchristopher-photography.co.uk/

I feel like (and I risk sounding quite mad here) but it really does feel as though I have someone watching over me with regards to the wedding.  So many odd things have happened.  I feel like it could be my Granddad. It's a nice feeling and even if it is mad I don't care.

So I'm going wedding dress shopping tomorrow! OMG I can't wait!  I want today to hurry up so I can go and put some wedding dresses on! I'm going to try on ALL of them!  My Mum is just as excited as I am!  We're only going to one shop tomorrow (and hopefully that's it) and then we'll have some lunch after and maybe a celebratory drink - we shall see.  It's annoying that I can't tell you all where I'm going or what style of dress I'm hoping to get.  I wish I could.  I'm sitting here pursing my lips and itching to give you all the details.  Never mind - the wedding is only 49 weeks away. Gaaahhh! Seems like a life-time away.  I know, I know, it will go quickly blah blah blah.  I want to get married NOW!

I realised the other day that I need to be a bit careful with my opinions on here.  I have some very strong wedding related opinions and I don't want to upset anyone.  For example I wrote in an earlier post about despising chair covers -  this is just my opinion and I have been to many weddings where there have been chair  covers and I've still loved the wedding.  Also, I get it as if the venue's chairs are minging then what are you supposed to do? It just irritates the shite out of me because venues that cater for weddings should just have decent chairs that people don't have to pay £300 to dress with bows.

Weddings are very personal and I'm sure there will be aspects of mine and Sami's wedding that people hate or think 'what the feck is that all about?' and that's fine with me as we all have different tastes.  However, I still apologise in advance if you read this blog and I say something mean about something you had at your wedding/plan to have.  Feel free to criticise mine..within reason.